Album Review

Slipknot - We Are Not Your Kind		
Slipknot - We Are Not Your Kind

Maggots, heavy metal fans across the globe, it’s finally time once again to grace upon a new Slipknot album. These guys are arguably one of the most well known, controversial and well respected metal bands to have ever graced the scene when they emerged in 1995. Since then they have released some phenomenal albums with this being number 6, unfortunately since Joey Jordinson is no longer part of the band that leaves Shaun Crahen the only original member of the band, however, Corey Taylor, Mick Thompson, Craig Jones and Sid Wilson are part of the version of this band that has seen them through their entire success. I am extremely god damn excited so let’s just jump in.

Let’s start with the already released singles in “Solway Firth” and “Unsainted”; “Solway Firth” is an absolute demon of a track really aggressive and evil sounding which just epitomises who Slipknot are, “Unsainted” though has got to be one of the best songs I’ve heard in a long time, it starts off all choir orientated and sweet but then erupts into Armageddon with high octane explosive metal. So moving on with “Birth of the Cruel” which really is a proper tasty track with sick riffs and sinister overtones which just screams what Slipknot embody. “Spiders” isn’t the usual type of track I would expect to hear on an album from these guys, it’s not a track you’ll find me listening to very often because yes it’s quite creepy but not creepy enough to keep my attention in place of aggression. “Orphan” starts with an eerie intro before launching headfirst into that trademark Slipknot style riff and blasting drums switching it up between tempos as well and sinister and aggressive vocal styles.

I mean there’s a lot of mixed feelings, but then again there has been about every album the guys have done since Volume 3 so I don’t really take any notice, especially since they’ve hit number 1 in the charts as well, which is well deserved because this is a beautifully structured album which is so typically Slipknot it’s beautiful.


Review by James Webb

 Band Members

(#8) Corey Taylor
(#7) Mick Thomson
(#4) Jim Root
Alessandro Venturella
Jay Weinberg
(#6) Shawn "Clown" Crahan
(#0) Sid Wilson
(#5) Craig "133" Jones
 Track Listing
1. Insert Coin
2. Unsainted
3. Birth of the Cruel
4. Deaths Beacause of Death
5. Nero Forte
6. Critical Darling
7. A Liars Funeral
8. Red Flag
9. What’s Next
10. Spiders
11. My Pain
12. Not Long for this World
13. Solway Firth
 Band Related Links
Slipknot Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?